TUTORIAL How to prevent spam on MyBB 1.8.x

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

10-04-2016, 07:55 PM #1
NomanProdhan Offline KING OF FFU FFU OWNER
GFX DESIGNER
VIP MEMBER
Posts:678 Threads:224 Joined:Sep 2014 Reputation: 108 Sex Male

[Image: 2rnIRTz.png]

MyBB is a free and open source, intuitive, extensible, and incredibly powerful forum software. Big Grin its my favorite forum software. MyBB is user-friendly and anybody can manage a MyBB community forum without having any coding knowledge.

Spam is the worst thing for any community forum. Its a common problem and we can't neglect this. I am using MyBB for more than three years. I have some good experience about MyBB. However, today I want to share some tips and tricks to prevent spamming on your MyBB forum. So lets start the journey... Big Grin Remember that, all the tips and tricks are tested with MyBB 1.8.x.

Add registrations security questions
We all know that most of the spammer use automation bot for making spammer. So if we will be able to prevent bot registration than we will not get spammy post. MyBB 1.8.x have Security Question option for preventing bot registration.
You can set some random security questions that a visitor may have to answer when registering in your community
. To set security questions log into your Admin panel and go to Configuration > Security Questions
When your visitor will try to register on your community they will get your security questions and they will have ability to "Refresh" and get a new questions. So you will need to set multiple hard questions. Don't set any easy questions like 2 + 2 = ? . Use hard questions.

Minimum Registration Time